Time for trade unions to take the lead in building a new working class party

The May 2025 election results show the need for a new party that the working class can trust. Stagnant wages, underfunded public services, the scandal of the housing crisis, Labour councils pursuing fire and rehire, cuts to pensioners' winter fuel allowance, reductions in disability benefits, and continued government support for Israel's murderous campaign in Gaza – and all under a Labour government. Labour isn't Labour anymore, and Reform UK is becoming a significant beneficiary of working people's anger.

We, the undersigned, believe it's time for the trade union movement to seriously discuss founding a new anti-austerity, anti-war party. Our movement will be weakened if workers see us as a voice for pro-austerity Labour. We call for urgent discussions within our union and across unions to organise a conference to establish a political voice for working people. The Establishment has four parties – it's time the working class had one of its own.

Founding signatories (all in a personal capacity): Ian Hodson, President, BFAWU; Sarah Wooley, General Secretary, BFAWU; Tosh McDonald, Former National President, ASLEF; Amy Murphy, Former National President, USDAW; Gareth Bromhall, GMB and TUC Cymru General Council (Trades Council Seat); Adam Harmsworth, National Deputy Chair, NAPO Family Courts section and TUSC Steering Committee; Dan Warrington, NEC member, NEU; Sheila Caffrey, NEC member, NEU; Denise Henry, NEU NEC member and TUSC Steering Committee; Michaela Wilde, NEU NEC member; Martin Powell-Davies, Former London Regional Secretary and former NEC member, NEU; Jane Nellist, Former NEC member, NEU; Marion Lloyd, NEC member, PCS; Dave Semple, Former Vice President, PCS; Chris Baugh, Former Assistant General Secretary, PCS and TUSC Steering Committee; April Ashley, NEC member, Black Members, female seat Unison, and TUSC Steering Committee; Hugo Pierre, Former NEC member, Unison; Naomi Byron, Former NEC member Unison; Glenn Kelly, Former NEC member, Unison; Roger Bannister, Former NEC member, Unison; Suz Muna, Executive Council member, Unite and TUSC Steering Committee; John Reid, Former NEC member, RMT; Duncan Moore, NEC member, UCU, and TUSC Steering Committee; Christina Paine, NEC member UCU, and TUSC Steering Committee; Marco Tesei, NEC member, UCU.

Name	Trade Union	Position	Email