

A directory of the elections taking place in May 2025

The local elections taking place on Thursday 1st May 2025 will be the first big electoral test of the new government. The normal cycle of elections will see contests for the 21 English County Councils, nine unitary authorities, the Metropolitan borough council of Doncaster, the City of London, and the Isles of Scilly council, together covering a population of over 23 million. There will be directly-elected mayoral contests for Doncaster and North Tyneside councils and the combined authorities of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough and the West of England. There are also likely to be inaugural elections for the mayor of two new combined authorities, Greater Lincolnshire, and Hull and East Yorkshire.

This directory provides a breakdown of the local councils being contested in May: in each case the number of councillors up for election; the council's current political leadership; some of the key towns where these elections will take place – and some unitary authorities within the county area that are *not* part of the elections – and the population in the 2022 census.

The 30 county councils and unitary authorities with elections this year will be electing 2,094 councillors in 1,858 divisions or wards, fewer than in 2021 when these councils were last contested, following boundary changes in some. In addition there is an 'all-up' election for the 55 councillors on Doncaster metropolitan borough council, elected from 21 wards, taking place alongside the election of the directly-elected Doncaster Mayor. There is also a Mayoral election in North Tyneside, but without concurrent elections for councillors.

The dominant party in these authorities are the Tories, with over 1,380 councillors elected in 2021 on the old boundaries. Labour then won 335 seats, almost the same number as the Liberal Democrats on 313. There were 62 Green councillors elected in 2021 and over 170 assorted independents and 'others', but none from Reform.

Clive Heemskerk, TUSC National Election Agent 4th September 2024 Blank page



The 2025 elections:

The English county councils and unitary authorities

Below is a breakdown of the English county councils and unitary authorities (and two metropolitan boroughs) with elections in May 2025, grouped into regions with the number of seats up for election in each council, the current political leadership of the council, some of the key towns where these elections will take place – and some unitary authorities within the county area that are *not* part of the elections – and the population in the 2022 census.

Eastern

Cambridgeshire County Council (LD-Lab-Ind)

No. of councillors: 61 in 59 divisions

Key towns: Cambridge; Huntingdon; St Neots (not Peterborough)

Population: 689,000

Essex County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 75 in 70 divisions

Key towns: Basildon; Colchester; Epping Forest; Harlow (not Thurrock; Southend)

Population: 1.52m

Hertfordshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 78 in 78 divisions

Key towns: Stevenage; Watford; Broxbourne

Population: 1.21m

Norfolk County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 43 in 43 divisions

Key towns: Norwich; Great Yarmouth; Kings Lynn

Population: 925,000

Suffolk County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 70 in 63 divisions Key towns: Ipswich; Lowestoft; Felixstowe

Population: 769,000

East Midlands

Derbyshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 64 in 64 divisions

Key towns: Bolsover; Chesterfield; Long Eaton (not Derby)

Population: 803,000

Leicestershire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 55 in 52 divisions

Key towns: Loughborough; Hinckley; Wigston (not Leicester)

Population: 722,000

Lincolnshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 70 in 70 divisions

Key towns: Lincoln; Boston; Grantham (not Scunthorpe)

Population: 776,000

North Northamptonshire Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 78 in 26 wards

Key towns: Corby; Wellingborough; Kettering

Population: 363,000

Nottinghamshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 66 in 56 divisions

Key towns: Mansfield; Hucknall; West Bridgeford (not Nottingham)

Population: 835,000

West Northamptonshire Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 76 in 35 wards Key towns: Northampton; Daventry

Population: 429,000

Northern

County Durham Council (LD-Con-Ind)

No. of councillors: 98 in 63 divisions

Key towns: Durham; Consett; Newton Aycliffe (not Hartlepool)

Population: 528,000

North Tyneside Council Mayor (Lab)

Population: 304,000

Northumberland County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 69 in 69 divisions Key towns: Blyth; Ashington; Morpeth

Population: 324,000

North West

Lancashire County Council (Lab)

No. of councillors: 84 in 82 divisions

Key towns: Preston; Lancaster; Chorley; Burnley (not Blackburn; Blackpool)

Population: 1.25m

Southern

Buckinghamshire Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 97 in 49 wards

Key towns: Aylesbury; Buckingham; High Wycombe (not Milton Keynes)

Population: 505,000

East Sussex County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 50 in 50 divisions

Key towns: Hastings; Lewes; Eastbourne (not Brighton)

Population: 551,000

Hampshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 78 in 76 divisions

Key towns: Gosport; Eastleigh; Basingstoke; Aldershot (not Southampton; Portsmouth)

Population: 1.42m

Isle of Wight (Ind)

No. of councillors: 39 in 39 wards

Population: 141,000

Kent County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 81 in 72 divisions

Key towns: Dover; Maidstone; Canterbury; Folkestone (not Medway)

Population: 1.59m

Oxfordshire County Council (LD-Green)

No. of councillors: 63 in 61 divisions Key towns: Oxford; Banbury; Abingdon

Population: 738,000

Surrey County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 81 in 81 divisions

Key towns: Guildford; Woking; Staines; Ashford

Population: 1.21m

West Sussex County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 70 in 70 divisions

Key towns: Crawley; Worthing; Littlehampton; Shoreham

Population: 892,000

South West

Cornwall Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 87 in 87 divisions

Key towns: Truro; Cambourne; Falmouth; Penzance

Population: 575,000

Devon County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 60 in 58 divisions

Key towns: Exeter; Newton Abbot; Barnstaple (not Plymouth)

Population: 826,000

Gloucestershire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 53 in 53 divisions

Key towns: Gloucester; Cheltenham; Stroud

Population: 652,000

Wiltshire Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 98 in 98 divisions

Key towns: Trowbridge; Salisbury; Chippenham (not Swindon)

Population: 516,000

West Midlands

Shropshire Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 74 in 63 wards Key towns: Shrewsbury (not Telford)

Population: 327,000

Staffordshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 62 in 62 divisions

Key towns: Stafford; Newcastle-under-Lyme; Cannock (not Stoke)

Population: 886,000

Warwickshire County Council (Con)

No. of councillors: 57 in 57 divisions

Key towns: Nuneaton; Rugby; Leamington (not Coventry)

Population: 608,000

Worcestershire County Council (Con) No. of councillors: 57 in 52 divisions

Key towns: Worcester; Kidderminster; Redditch; Bromsgrove Population: 609,000

Yorkshire

Mayor of Doncaster (Lab) Doncaster Borough Council (Lab)

No. of councillors: 55 in 21 wards

Population: 311,000